My Halycon Days

Halycon: denoting a period of time in the past that was idyllically happy and peaceful My halcyon days were sweet. I was most probably 7-10 years old, when the only problem I ever had was which TV show was coming up next in Nickelodeon (they call it “Nick” now) and Disney Channel. I was in the 2nd or 3rd grade and every day after school, I would finish up my homework really quick and then turn on the television to watch one of the most entertaining and truthful cartoons ever. What ever happened to them?! Like Lizzie McGuire, for example. Despite Lizzie’s troublesome and difficult teenage years (regarding boy issues, frenemies) how I wished I was her. I would even tell my mom to buy me certain type of clothes that would resemble her. I even started playing that rubber-ball or jumping-thingy that Gordo used to play, and believe me, I practiced at it a lot. And you’re definitely not a 90skid if you’ve never watched Hey Arnold and As Told By Ginger. 99596Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 21.22.371327632184oldfictionalsfeat-e1327913223819 These were the tv shows that shaped my childhood cause I had already learnt a lot about being a kid. I also got a hint of what my teen years would be like from them, and I especially remember that every tv show had a “queen bee” or the “mean girl”. Like Courtney from As Told By Ginger. Other notable cartoons/tv shows from the early 2000s: Spongebob Squarepants, Cat and Dog, That’s So Raven, The Wild Thornberries etc. The early 2000s was definitely the best years of my life. What was even better? My older sister would tag along, and I think that watching the shows was the only time we got along. I bet she still remembers those days.ஐ

DISCLAIMER: ALL OPINIONS EXPRESSED AND WRITINGS INCLUDED ON “SUJANA’S JARGONS AND STORIES” ARE MY OWN UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.
Leave a Reply

