Movie Reviews For March

So I spent my month of March watching movies more than I normally do. Here are the reviews to the movies I watched when I was home alone with a bag of chips, spaghetti, and a few drinks :

1. Lucy

lucy-the-movieLucy is a science fiction action movie about a woman portrayed by Scarlett Johansson (*yaaayy*), who gets betrayed by her boyfriend, who works for a drug lord. Lucy is then abducted by thugs and gets trapped in a situation where a pack of drugs gets ladled into her system. The package breaks inside her abdomen after some serious ass-kicking and scary blood-filled scenes. Therefore, due to some chemical intoxication, her mental and physical capabilities start to increase immensely.

For me, this movie was a very different watch as to what I normally prefer (YA romcoms). I really had to brace myself during the hefty scenes, though. Overall, I enjoyed the movie a lot because I was honestly in the mood of watching something related to the brain and intelligence kinda thing :3

If ratings are required, I would give this movie a seven out of ten. I really like the movie as it introduced me to Scarlett Johansson, considering the fact that i was not the biggest fan before watching this.

2. The Interview

MV5BMTQzMTcwMzgyMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzAyMzQ2MzE@._V1_SX640_SY720_The Interview is a movie I would normally watch when I am super bored, but when I watched it on a Tuesday when I had to do heaps of school assignments, I enjoyed it a lot more because it is a very distracting, disturbing flick. Two legit reasons why I watched the movie was because I love James Franco for his amazing acting and his everything (well, almost) and also because it was set in a peculiar (but fake) setting – North Korea.

Ratings: depends profoundly on your tastes but for me, four out of ten.

3. The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner 01The Kite Runner is a spectacular and a partial heart-wrenching story about a boy in Afghanistan. Adapted from Khaled Hosseini’s novel entitled with the same name, I could really relate to the story. Well, not exactly, but I could really feel the presence of emotional, political, social and mental upheavals someone would go through during the war, friendship, deceit, and loss. This movie also reminded me about Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis, set during the Iranian Revolution. Ratings: 8 out of ten for its directory, acting and the whole plot.ஐ

DISCLAIMER: ALL OPINIONS EXPRESSED AND WRITINGS INCLUDED ON “SUJANA’S JARGONS AND STORIES” ARE MY OWN UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

Leave a Reply

