Book Review: The Scorch Trials

tumblr_nf46lsAudf1trbjqso1_400

Author: James Dashner

Publisher: Chicken House Edition

Genre: Young adult science fiction, post-apocalyptic, thriller, dystopian

Date of publication: 2011

Pages: 359

About the book:

The Scorch Trials is the second book of The Maze Runner series. The protagonists include Thomas (main), Teresa, Minho, Newt and the rest of the Gladers who have been “kidnapped” and placed in another complicated trial called the Scorch Trials by a peculiar “controller” of the whole phase, known as WICKED. You can read another description of the blurb here. The book is narrated from a third person’s point of view but only revolving around Thomas’s perception throughout the plot. The story includes gruesome characters and bizarre situations that will surely make your heart race and make you go through series of thrills and unprecedented emotions. The series is a trilogy with two other prequels: The Kill Order and The Fever Code (which will be published in 2016) and both books are by James Dashner.

Personal Response:

I just want to begin by saying how excited I am to watch the movie adaptation of this book. I honestly think this book made me love sci-fi, the post-apocalyptic world, and dystopian novels because the book somehow made me hold on to it the whole time.

(Spoiler-alert)

For me, Thomas was a great character, not only because he trusted his guts and was decent throughout the book, but also because he is someone you could trust on and he was not one of those standing-alone-in-the-end types of guy. I really liked how the author expressed Thomas’s emotions and I could totally relate to the feelings of fear, guilt, confusion and what not. I also think that Thomas did the right thing to put his friends first in certain situations, and also that he tried to control his thoughts and feelings even in the most spiteful times, which I could relate to. I believe that the first book’s movie adaptation (The Maze Runner) encouraged me to read this book, partially because I watched The Maze Runner merely as a random movie when it was released in theatres last year. I did not have high hopes for the movie, besides the time when I was reading the plot in IMDB and came to know Dylan O’Brien was playing Thomas. I had not watched any of Dylan O’Brien’s movies, not even Teen Wolf. So I did not expect a lot from the movie until I reached 15 minutes past the onset of the film. I was totally grossed out, which I loved. The ending was not expected and should I mention how I loved the characters? But moving on to The Scorch Trials, I think I will be reading the sequel, The Death Cure, but not anytime soon because the Cranks and everything is still creeping me out.

Ratings: ★★★★★

DISCLAIMER: ALL OPINIONS EXPRESSED AND WRITINGS INCLUDED ON “SUJANA’S JARGONS AND STORIES” ARE MY OWN UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

Leave a Reply

