Movie Review: The Virgin Suicides

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 2.39.47 PM

Directed By: Sofia Coppola

Release Year: 2000

Length: 1 hour 37 minutes

Short Synopsis

I do not think this synopsis is spoiler free because of you know, the title. But basically, the story is about four teenage guys who are obsessed with the Lisbon sisters. We do not know who the Lisbon sisters are or what they are like besides the fact that they live across the street to the guys and that they all have blonde hair. The sisters are raised by strict and religiously fanatic parents, which means no dating, no going out in cars, no late night parties (with the exceptional case of that ONE homecoming dance) and definitely no boys in the house without deep speculation from the parents. Because the four boys (the narrators) are so enamoured by the sisters, they try to understand them through their diaries, personal belongings, through music and by merely observing the Lisbon sisters. The movie is a flashback and the narrator recalls the story of when the Lisbon house slowly starts to change (since the summer of the mid-1970s). As the title suggests, the girls eventually decide to kill themselves, at which they succeed by the end of the movie/book, but the mystery is—no one knows why.

My comment: (Spoiler-free)

I thought the movie was well directed and the acting was great; the girls seemed to lure me since the start of the film and the whole thing just left me speechless in the end. Not to forget…confused too. I honestly wanted an answer to the whole confusion – WHY? Why did the Lisbon sisters end their lives? It was kind of like me who was obsessing over them alongside the group of four nerdy boys.

b00647aaf12d20f3a35e7b2471c6cf10

I wanted to know who was guilty for the girls’ death, what happened to their parents after that, how the boys managed to move on and so on and so forth. I have not read the book yet, and I also think that this much of confusion and awe are enough for my brain to handle right now.

But, can we talk about how and why the Lisbon sisters were portrayed in the way that they were portrayed in the film? Why the plot left me so speechless? Or why Sofia Coppola is so praise-worthy for this specific work?

I will be honest and say that there was something about this movie that made me re-watch it the next day and then re-re-watch it again a few days later. Maybe it was because of the girls, or the fact that I had been waiting so much throughout the whole movie to watch those girls do the deed (not in a morbid way). When the movie was over, I felt like everything they had gone through—all of the hard times, the fun times and the mundane times had all been redundant and unsatisfying because of the end. Maybe that was why I just keep coming back for the first half of the movie. When all of the shocks subsided, I wanted to read the book as well but having been so reminiscent of the movie even after a couple of days made me realize just how much more intricately nerve-wracking the book must be (because of you know, the THEME OF THIS STORY). I will say that it was hard to look at the plot positively; I could not help but blame the parents.

I think Sofia Coppola did a great job directing the movie. From the very first scene, I knew it was a movie I’d be interested in. I also loved the scenes where Lux wakes up in the football field and how the girls appear as if out of nowhere. I loved the acting and how the 1970s suburbs looked and felt like—the way the trees and the air would shift its colour and contour the house in a different way as the plot progressed. Not to forget, I loved the soundtrack and the narration in the movie. It was all like a puff of dreamy experience I had gone through.

Finally, I’d like to say that this movie gave me mixed emotions and many of them were indecipherable(in a good way). I recommend watching the movie to adult teens and mystery-lovers. I do not know if I want to read the book, although I have definitely heard great book reviews about it.

Ratings: starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingfgffeh1

DISCLAIMER: ALL OPINIONS EXPRESSED AND WRITINGS INCLUDED ON “SUJANA’S JARGONS AND STORIES” ARE MY OWN UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

One thought on “Movie Review: The Virgin Suicides

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Virgin Suicides « Sujana's Jargons and Stories

Leave a Reply

