Movie Review: Ghost World

5698912026_e924bb185c_b.jpg

Directed By: Terry Zwigoff

Release Year: 2001

Length: 1 hour 51 minutes

Short Synopsis:

A movie adapted from Daniel Clowes’s comic book of the same title, Ghost World is a story about two best friends, Enid (Thora Birch) and Rebecca (Scarlett Johansson), who inevitably go their separate ways as they try to socialize outside of their small clique known as their high school after they graduate. Enid starts taking an interest in an older guy while Rebecca gets a job and tries to get closer to her crush. While Enid is an eccentric and nerdy teenager, her best friend is calm and collected.

My comments (Spoiler-free):

I decided to watch this movie when I read the synopsis on Wikipedia and IMDb, saying that the movie is about two girls (that are my age) trying to figure themselves out. Now, I am all about figuring stuff out, I love those kinds of movies. But this one? Meh…..It was okay-ish.

Other than Scarlett Johansson’s versatility as an actress, I thought the movie was awkward and not at all pleasant. I personally thought the movie was annoying and I could not help but use my phone for 10 minutes every now and then.

The characters, I thought, were too smart for their age and their constant rebellion to practically everything in the entire world made me cringe so frequently. I had no idea how long 1 hour and 45 minutes was before I watched this movie.

ghostworldstills027pm3.jpg

However, I am still recommending this movie; because it depends profoundly on your taste. Plus, it has good reviews on IMDb and Rotten Tomatoes. So go for it if you’d like to watch this movie for whatever reason that you may have.

The positive side of this movie is that you get to watch a young Scarlett Johansson. Honestly, not a big fan of this movie, but I do give credit for the realness of this movie; not all teenagers are reckless but that does not mean they do not make mistakes notwithstanding.

Ratings: starratingstarratingstarratingfgffeh1fgffeh1 (3/5)

DISCLAIMER: ALL OPINIONS EXPRESSED AND WRITINGS INCLUDED ON “SUJANA’S JARGONS AND STORIES” ARE MY OWN UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

Leave a Reply

