Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

harry_potter_and_the_half_blood_prince_ver19

Directed By: David Yates

Release Year: 2009

Length: 2 hours 33 minutes

Review

This review is from a person who has been watching 1/2 of the HP movies almost every year and sometimes more than once a year. When I watched the sixth movie for the first time, I was a twelve-year-old girl who had not read any of the books except the third, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I remember sitting in the movie theater and overhearing whispers from my older sister and her friends, who were clearly disappointed with the movie (to my greatest surprise). Of course, I did not have a concrete idea of how the HP movies were different from their books. Hence, I thought the movie adaptation of the sixth book was the best I had watched so far.

After seven years since its release (wow), I can still say that this movie belongs to the top three most entertaining HP movies. After reading and re-reading some of the books this year, I started noticing a handful of plot alterations. For example, you never hear of S.P.E.W. or Winky in the movies, or spend as much time with the trio in the Gryffindor common room as they do in the books (alas …). Therefore, I think that to save ourselves from disappointments, I thought maybe we should have enjoyed the movies knowing that the concept of making a film and writing a book have completely different procedures and their respective set of complications. Consequently, as I am going to review Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, please keep mind that I regard the book as just guidelines to the movie.

(Spoilers Alert!)

I really liked this movie because the characters are still at school and as stronger and more well-developed than ever. There was romance in this movie, as well as comedy. The film was well directed, it had superb cast, and the plot was great as usual (thanks, J.K. Rowling). I was very excited to watch Tom Felton as Draco Malfoy, for he portrays an unusually darker and secretive Malfoy in this film. Furthermore, I balled my eyes out as I watched Dumbledore being killed. Lastly, I just loved the movie’s soundtracks. The music was quite emotional with harps, pianos, and other really cool instruments that managed to accord beautiful music to the movie.

As far as Dumbledore’s funeral was concerned, I know that a lot of people thought badly of the fact that the funeral does not make it into the movie. I personally think that the funeral was better left to the book. I simply could not have watched a funeral in an HP movie. If the movie had included the funeral, then I am determined that it could not have lived up to the readers’ expectations. The part that I really enjoyed was when we get to see Tom Riddle’s past through the Pensieve. I know the credit goes to J.K. Rowling, but the movie did justice by making this part of the plot enigmatic. The cinematography of this movie stands out from the preceding five movies.

As a whole, I was very impressed with the movie. Kudos to the cinematographer for giving us another magical flick. This movie definitely gave me a movie hangover after I watched it for the first time.

Ratings: starratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarrating (5/5)

DISCLAIMER: ALL OPINIONS EXPRESSED AND WRITINGS INCLUDED ON “SUJANA’S JARGONS AND STORIES” ARE MY OWN UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED.

Leave a Reply

